Excerpt from the book “A Tale of Two Cities”

Politics, Race, and 7 Ways That Charles Dickens Was Both A Writer and A Prophet!

Carla D. Wilson Laskey
5 min readJan 18, 2017

Yes! I admit. I do love to write. For me, it’s one of life’s simple pleasures to sit back and observe things and then to use words to write something about what I’ve observed. Kinda like what I’m doing right now. And by the way. I do thank you for reading it.

Right along with me loving to write. I also love to read. As a matter of fact. It would probably be accurate to say that I read more than I write. And lately, I’ve been doing a whole lot of reading. Not so much the reading of hardback, paperback, and virtual books.Although at this very moment I have a stack of unfinished books on the table in one of my cozy reading spaces in our home.I also have a few partially read books on my beloved Kindle.

It is precisely because of this, that I have vowed not to purchase any more new books until I finish the ones that I’ve already accumulated. And yes. I honestly admit that for me this presents a bit of a challenge. Particularly since my curiosity and love of learning makes it very easy for me to become interested in a new book on a whim. However, so far I am holding steady and haven’t paid for any new books in a while. Note, the operative word is “paid” but I digress.

Anyway, so if I am not reading any new books (i.e. hardback, paperback, or virtual) then exactly…

--

--

Carla D. Wilson Laskey

Using words to inspire, motivate, and encourage us all to positively impact the world for the greater good of all! https://linktr.ee/CarlaDee